Coach’s Oats!

I don’t think I could even try to tell you how excited I was to see this box waiting for me when I arrived home the other day week (sorry, this post has been sitting in my drafts bin for a while)….

I love getting mail.  LOVE it.  And even when it’s junk mail… if it’s addressed to me, I’m stoked.  (Although to my electric, gas, and cable providers, if you’d like to refrain from sending me bills,  I’d be even happier 😉 )

When I saw it was from Coach’s Oats, I was even more excited to open it up.

I found Coach’s Oats… rather, Coach’s Oats found me, through a chat on Twitter.  This chat was part of the “me” movement by Registered Dietitian Rebecca Scritchfield and her team.  The main principle of the Me Movement is mainly to take care of our own selves before most other things… check it out!

Ok, back to the Oats!

I opened up the box to find a nice handwritten letter from the company.

It sure is nice to receive a handwritten note.  I think that says a lot about a company…that they take the time to be ‘personable’ in their business. You know what I’m saying?

Lizzy also included some information about Coach’s Oats.

It was interesting to read the fact sheets– I learned about the company’s history and about what makes Coach’s Oats different from others.  To find out more about the company, visit http://www.coachsoats.com/index.html to find out more.

On their factsheet, they write that the “texture, time and taste” of their oats is what sets them apart from others.

They write, “Coach’s oats are prepared in an entirely new way.  The groats are toasted to bring the natural sugars to the surface of the oat, then cracked into small pieces.  This patented Cracked n’ Toasted process means that Coach’s Oats are never mushy, always naturally delicious and cook in just 3 to 5 minutes on a stove top or in the microwave. ”

They gave me sixteen packets!! SIXTEEN! And let me tell you, this poor college kid was in oatmeal HEAVEN! (Free) breakfast for half a month?  Heck ya.

Each packet is for 1 serving of oats and contains 160 calories, 4 grams of fiber, and 6 grams of protein!

The first day I cooked them up, I put in 3/4 cup water.   It came out a little too runny for my liking so I modified and have been adding a little over 1/2 cup of water now.

I put them in the microwave for three minutes — such a quick and easy breakfast.

One day, I had them plain.

I like my oatmeal to be thick, so this consistency was perfect 🙂

Another day I had them with some cocoa powder and cinnamon mixed in.

It honestly tasted like dessert for breakfast.  YUM.

Oatmeal allows for so much versatility for breakfast.  (Or for any other meal of the day 🙂 ) Here are some of my most favorite combinations:

  • Classic Oatmeal = Oats + Almonds + Cranberries
  • Elvis Oatmeal =  Oats + Banana + Peanut Butter
  • Oatmeal for the Chocoholic = Oats + Cocoa Powder + Cinnamon
  • Fall Mix = Oats + Pumpkin + Granola + Flaxseed + Cinnamon
  • Fresh Berries & Oats = …pretty self-explanatory if you ask me 😉

What kind of combinations do you like to have with your oats?

Coach’s Oats: THANK YOU so much for giving me this opportunity to review your product.  I gave two of my friends one packet each so that they could provide a testimonial on my blog.  They told me they loved them too!  Thanks! 🙂

One thought on “Coach’s Oats!

  1. The blog about your new Coach’s Oats leaves me wishing you were home to make me some! Now I’m hungry. They look delish!

Tell me what you think!

